Jack Leggett, Bert Roberge, Ed Flaherty, Russ Quetti, Brian Butterfield. Just some of the names on the 1976 UMaine College World Series team returning to Orono this weekend to take a bow.

Along with the '76, the 1986 CWS will also be honored before the UMaine vs Stony Brook doubleheader at Mahaney Diamond Saturday afternoon at 3pm.

The 1976 team was coach John Winkin's first CWS team and the second team(1964) to play in Omaha. The Black Bears won the ECAC championship and swept through the NCAA Northeast Regional to earn the world series spot. The Bears beat Washington State and Auburn before losing to Arizona. The team finished 29-9.

The 1986 team is the last team to make it to Omaha. Players included Dave Gonyar, Billy Reynolds, Mike Bordick, Rick Bernardo, Jeff Plympton, Robbie Roy and Dale Plummer. This team was the first team to win 40 games. The Bears lost two close games to Arizona and LSU at the CWS, finishing with a 41-23 record.