Contact Us

UM Hockey Search Committee Announced


Former UMaine Black Bear Peter Metcalf is part of the search committee tasked with finding a new hockey coach.

The committee is made up of seven members who have begun working to compile a list of candidates to present to Athletic Director Steve Abbott within two months.

The new coach will replace Tim Whitehead who was fired on April 9 after 12 years in that position.

Below is a list of committee members.

  • Dr. George Jacobson, professor emeritus of biology and climate change will serve as the committee chair.
  • Cherie Damon, president and long-time member of Friends of Maine Hockey and parent of a former player.
  • Dr. Nic Erhardt, assistant professor of management in the Maine Business School and faculty liaison to the men’s hockey team. Erhardt played semi-pro hockey in Sweden.
  • Peter Metcalf, former UMaine player and part of two teams that played in the national championship. Played professionally before becoming a financial advisor in Portland.
  • Dr. Richard Powell, UMaine assistant professor of political science, and director of the Peter Madigan Congressional Leadership Program.
  • Jon Sorenson, UMaine alum working in the energy industry in Massachusetts. Co-chair of the Black Bears of Boston and founder of the Boston Executive Club of the University of Maine.
  • Janine Tremble, UMaine alum, marketing specialist with Maine Savings and president elect of the Black Bear Board of Advisors.


Best of 92.9 The Ticket

Recommended for You

Best of the Web

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

*Please note that your prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to using your original account information.

*Please note that your prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for Stub Club quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!

Sign up to have exclusive Stub Club contests, events, coupons, presales, and much more delivered to you for FREE.