The U.S. Central region champion from Chicago, IL are the 2016 Senior League World Champions after besting the team from Australia by a score of 7-2 in the championship game on Saturday.

Illinois scored early on in the contest when Zach Verta drove in the first run to give his side the lead.  His teammate Noah Miller would add on to that lead in the second inning with an RBI double.  Another run would come across on a wild pitch and Miller would then score a fourth run by stealing home on a throw back to the pitcher.

Australia would start to mount a comeback after scoring a run on a sacrifice fly and then shutting Illinois down in the fourth inning.  The Aussies would challenge to add to their total, but instead stranded two runners on as Zach Verta work around the jam.  After a passed ball by Australian resulted in another Chicago run, Gage Olszak would clear the bases with a two-run triple to make the score 7-1 in favor of U.S. Central.

Australia was able to score a final run in the top of the seven inning before Central recorded the final out.

Zach Verta earned the win with 5.2 innings pitched as he allowed just one run on two hits, two walks, and struck out eight batters.

There was an extended rain delay in the top of the fifth inning as both teams had to wait 95 minutes for the storm to pass through and get the field back into shape.

The championship is the first from a team from Illinois.  The Australian side that made the championship game was a part of their first ever Senior League World Series.


Past Senior League Champions...

1961 Natrona heights-Natrona heights, Pennsylvania
1962 West Hempstead-West Hempstead, New York
1963 Del Norte-Monterrey, Mexico
1964 International-Massapequa, New York
1965 Del Norte-Monterrey, Mexico
1966 East Rochester-East Rochester, New York
1967 Westbury-Westbury, New York
1968 New Hyde Park-New Hyde Park, New York
1969 Airport-Sacramento, California
1970 West Tampa-Tampa, Florida
1971 East La Habra-La Habra, California
1972 Meiho Pingtung-Chinese Taipei
1973 Taipei-Chinese Taipei
1974 Ping Tung-Chinese Taipei
1975 Meiho Pingtung-Chinese Taipei
1976 Meiho Pingtung-Chinese Taipei
1977 Hau Hsing-Chinese Taipei
1978 Jong Kung-Chinese Taipei
1979 Tung Feng-Chinese Taipei
1980 Ping Tung-Chinese Taipei
1981 Georgetown-Georgetown, Delaware
1982 Goleta Valley-Santa Barbara, California
1983 Mei-Ho Ping Tung-Chinese Taipei
1984 Altamonte Springs-Altamonte Springs, Florida
1985 Ping Tung-Chinese Taipei
1986 Taipei-Chinese Taipei
1987 Athens-Athens, Ohio
1988 Taipei-Chinese Taipei
1989 Ping Tung-Chinese Taipei
1990 Ping Tung-Chinese Taipei
1991 Ping Tung-Chinese Taipei
1992 Ping Tung-Chinese Taipei
1993 La Vega-Dominican Republic
1994 North Brandon-Brandon, Florida
1995 Dunedin National-Dunedin, Florida
1996 Coquivacoa-Maracaibo, Venezuela
1997 San Francisco-San Francisco, Venezuela
1998 Diamond Bar-Diamond Bar, California
1999 Conway Little League, Orlando, Florida
2000 Curundu-Panama City, Panama
2001 Palm Harbor, Florida
2002 Curacao
2003 Hilo Little League
Hilo, Hawaii
2004 Freehold Township Little League
Freehold Township, New Jersey
2005 Urbandale Little League
Urbandale, Iowa
2006 Paraguana Little League
Falcon, Venezuela
2007 Cartersville Little League
Cartersville, Georgia
2008 North Cumberland Little League
Upper Deerfield, NJ
2009 West University Little League
Houston, Texas
2010 Aruba South Little League
San Nicolas, Aruba
2011 Hilo Little League, Hilo, Hawaii
2012 Juvenil de Guatemala LL
Guatemala City, Guatemala
2013 Chitre LL - Chitre, Herrera, Panama
2014 West University LL - Houston, Texas
2015 West University LL - Houston, Texas