The University of Maine football team held its first of 15 spring practices Wednesday on Morse Field at Alfond Stadium.

Wednesday's practice gear featured just helmets and shorts. The team will hold its first practice in full pads on Saturday.

The spring practice schedule includes a pair of scrimmages -- April 21 and April 28 -- and will conclude with the Jeff Cole Memorial Spring Game on Friday, May 4 at 7 p.m.

It's the first time the spring game will be held on a Friday night, typically the annual event takes place on a Saturday morning.

2018 Maine Football Spring Practice Schedule:

  • Wednesday, April 4 - 8:00 a.m. to 10:00 a.m.
  • Friday, April 6 - 8:00 a.m. to 10:00 a.m.
  • Saturday, April 7 - 10:00 a.m. to 12:15 p.m. First day in full pads
  • Wednesday, April 11 - 8:00 a.m. to 10:00 a.m.
  • Friday, April 13 - 8:00 a.m. to 10:00 a.m.
  • Saturday, April 14 - 10:00 a.m. to 12:15 p.m.
  • Wednesday, April 18 - 8:00 a.m. to 10:00 a.m.
  • Friday, April 20 - 8:00 a.m. to 10:00 a.m.
  • Saturday, April 21 - 10:00 a.m. to 12:15 p.m. First Scrimmage
  • Wednesday, April 25 - 8:00 a.m. to 10:00 a.m.
  • Friday, April 27 - 8:00 a.m. to 10:00 a.m.
  • Saturday, April 28 - 10:00 a.m. to 12:15 p.m. Second Scrimmage
  • Monday, April 30 - 8:00 a.m. to 10:00 a.m.
  • Wednesday, May 2 - 8:00 a.m. to 10:00 a.m.
  • Friday, May 4 at 7:00 p.m. - Jeff Cole Memorial Spring Game

All practices and scrimmages are open to the public.

Photo gallery: UMaine football spring practices