The fourth annual Frank Gaziano Memorial Lineman awards were handed out Saturday afternoon.Luke Washburn of State Class D Champion Oak Hill won the defensive award while Jedidiah Scott of Sanford won the offensive award. The award which honors the top high school football lineman in the state gives a $5,000 dollar scholarship to each winner along with a trophy and leather jacket. The award takes into account the hard work of the players on the field, in the classroom, and in their communities.

Washburn was an all-Campbell Conference selection at defensive end as a junior and senior. He helped Oak Hill win the 2013 Class D state championship, and was a four-year letter winner for the Raiders. The Litchfield resident is currently the vice president of Oak Hill's Future Business Leaders of America chapter, and he was inducted into the school's National Technical Honor Society in 2013. Washburn has spent time as a volunteer for the Special Olympics, Big Brothers Big Sisters, the Dempsey Challenge, and youth football and basketball camps.

Scott was a four-year S.M.A.A. All-Academic selection, and a first team All-Conference offensive tackle choice in 2012 and 2013. He was the second leading tackler on the 2013 Sanford team that advanced to the Western Class A semi-finals. Scott is currently ranked 30th academically in his class of 257 students. He has received academic honors in accounting, language arts and world history, and was recognized by the National Society of High School Students for scholastic achievement in 2012. Scott has been active as a volunteer for programs through North Lebanon Second Baptist Church, and has stacked firewood and mowed lawns for elderly locals.

The offensive runner-ups were Ethan Liberty of Skowhegan and Greg Grinnell of Cheverus. Colin Richards of Mt. Blue and Jacob Fogel of Portland were the defensive runner-ups. Each of those four players receive $1,000 scholarships.