Yeonis Cespedes hit 30 homeruns and joined Ken Griffey jr. as the only players to win the home run derby in back-to-back seasons.Cespedes stayed consistent throughout the competition hitting 3 in the first round, and added 2 more in a swing-off to eliminate Josh Donaldson. In the second round he blasted 9 more to easily dispatch of the Orioles Adam Jones. His final hurdle to get to the final was Jose Bautista, who he beat 9-7.

Todd Frazier only hit 9 homeruns in the first three rounds but made it to the final for the National League. He was no match however for the defending champ falling 9-1.

The Derby raised $50,000 for the charity of his choice, at least $95,000 for the Minneapolis Boys & Girls Club programs and Major League Baseball's Reviving Baseball in Inner Cities (R.B.I.) program, $20,000 to the charities of Cespedes' Derby teammates, $25,000 each to the two captain's charities of choice and $8,000 to the charities of the choice of the NL participants.

AL Rd. 1 Rd. 2 Rd. 3
Brian Dozier 2
Jose Bautista 10 Bye 4
Adam Jones 4 3
Josh Donaldson 3
Yoenis Cespedes 3 9 7

NL Rd. 1 Rd. 2 Rd. 3
Todd Frazier 2 6 1
Troy Tulowitzki 4 2
Yasiel Puig 0
Giancarlo Stanton 6 Bye 0
Justin Morneau 2

Yoenis Cespedes 9
Todd Frazier 1