The USA Today unveiled its 2017 American Family Insurance All-USA Maine Football team First and Second team rosters on Thursday, and garnering one of the big accolades was Skowhegan QB Marcus Christopher.

Christopher was awarded the Offensive Player of the Year by the publication for throwing for 3,089 yards and 39 TDs for the Indians.  He was also named the First Team QB in the state.  Alex Rosko of Marshwood was named the Coach of the Year and Owen Garrard of Scarborough was given the Defensive Player of the Year.

Joining Christopher on the First Team offense in the North was Jordan Roddy of Cony and Elijah Gagnon of Brunswick.  Messalonskee running back Austin Pelletier received Second Team honors.

92.9 The Ticket Photo
92.9 The Ticket Photo

On defense, Adam Bertrand of MCI was selected as a First Team defense member and Ryan Fredette of Winslow, Nick Clawson of Foxcroft, and Colby Lee of MDI received Second Team nods.




OFFENSIVE PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Marcus Christopher, Skowhegan


QB Marcus Christopher (6-3, 205, Jr.), Skowhegan

RB Nolan Potter (6-2, 210, Sr.), Wells

RB Alex Sprague (5-11, 185, Sr.), Bonny Eagle (Standish)

WR Darryn Bailey (6-2, 200, Sr.), Oak Hill (Sabattus)

WR Jordan Roddy (5-10, 170, Sr.), Cony (Augusta)

TE Reece Lagerquist (6-4, 195, Sr.), Scarborough

OL Elijah Gagnon (6-2, 260, Sr.), Brunswick

OL Zach Klein (6-2, 230, Sr.), Bonny Eagle (Standish)

OL Ben Hughes (5-11, 240, Sr.), Scarborough

OL Sean McCormack-Kuhman (6-1, 215, Sr.), Wells

OL Nick Works (5-11, 235, Jr.), Sanford


QB Jack Bryant (6-2, 200, Sr.), Falmouth

RB Austin Pelletier (5-9, 170, Sr.), Messalonskee (Oakland)

RB Sean Whalen (5-10, 177, Sr.), Madison

WR Kordell Menard (6-0, 170, Sr.), Bonny Eagle (Standish)

WR Jon Bell (5-10, 170, Sr.), Skowhegan

TE Terrell Thomas (6-0, 192, Sr.), Edward Little (Auburn)

OL Charles Egeland (6-3, 280, Sr.), Portland

OL Austin Doughty (6-5, 270, Jr.), Oxford Hills (South Paris)

OL Bob Holzhacker (6-0, 225, Sr.), Cheverus (Portland)

OL Latrell Thomas (5-10, 300, Sr.), Edward Little (Auburn)

OL Brennan Schatzabel (6-0, 220, Sr.), Kennebunk


DEFENSIVE PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Owen Garrard, Scarborough


DL Drew Gregor (6-4, 240, Jr.), Marshwood (South Berwick)

DL Anthony Griffin (6-7, 245, Sr.), Scarborough

DL Justin Labrecque (6-3, 250, Sr.), Windham

DL Zeb Leavitt (6-4, 278, Sr.), Cheverus (Portland)

LB Owen Garrard (6-0, 230, Sr.), Scarborough

LB Cameron Houde (5-11, 200, Sr.), Thornton (Saco)

LB Max Horton (5-10, 160, Sr.), Marshwood (South Berwick)

DB Tanner Bernier (5-11, 190, Sr.), Windham

DB Adam Bertrand (5-9, 190, Sr.), Maine Central Institute (Pittsfield)

DB Kyle Glidden (5-10, 165, Sr.), Marshwood (South Berwick)

DB Connor Sirois (6-0, 180, Sr.), Bonny Eagle (Standish)


DL Ryan Fredette (5-11, 180, Sr.), Winslow

DL Mike Lunny (6-2, 205, Sr.), Sanford

DL Nick Thorne (5-9, 230, Sr.), Bonny Eagle (Standish)

DL Bobby Tremaine (5-7, 175, Jr.), Edward Little (Auburn)

LB Sean O’Donnell (5-10, 175, Sr.), Lewiston

LB Nate Watson (6-0, 225, Sr.), Windham

LB Ryan Weare (5-10, 210, Sr.), Cape Elizabeth

DB Jack Bryant (6-2, 180, Sr.), Falmouth

DB Nick Clawson (5-9, 200, Sr.), Foxcroft Academy (Dover-Foxcroft)

DB Grant Hartley (6-3, 220, Sr.), Edward Little (Auburn)

DB Colby Lee (5-10, 190, Sr.), Mount Desert Island (Mount Desert)


PR/KR Maxx Bell (5-10, 185, Sr.), Edward Little (Auburn)


More From 92.9 The Ticket