Baseball writers across the country have voted Oakland A's skipper Bob Melvin as American League Manager of the Year over Alex Cora of the Boston Red Sox.

Cue the boos around New England.

Melvin's A's won 97 games and got a wild card spot. He received 18 first place votes to only seven for Alex Cora.

It is the third time Melvin has been named Manager of the Year.

Kevin Cash of the Tampa Bay Rays finished third in the voting.

1st Place Votes: Melvin 18. Cora 7, Cash 5

2nd Place Votes: Melvin 10, Cora 11, Cash 6

3rd Place Votes: Melvin 1, Cora 11, Cash 14

NOTE: Atlanta's Brian Snitker was named National League Manager of the Year.

More From 92.9 The Ticket