UMaine junior defenseman Ben Hutton is on the Hobey Baker Award initial list of 59 players. Now the process of choosing college hockey's best player begins.

Phase one is fan voting which starts today at the Hobey Baker Award website.

The list of 59 is narrowed to the top 10 players in March and the so called Hobey Hat Trick of the three finalists will be named on April 2. The Hobey Award is given out during the Frozen Four National Championship April 10th.

Other players on the Hobey list include South Portland native Jon Gillies, a junior goaltender for Providence College. BU freshman Jack Eichel. BC's Ryan Fitzgerald and Teddy Doherty. Vermont's Mike Paliotta.

The Hobey Baker Award is seen as the Heisman Trophy for college hockey. It is named for Baker who was an outstanding amateur player and played college hockey for Princeton in the early 1900's.