College hockey's Ice Breaker Tournament is coming to Portland in October with four of the sport's biggest names - Maine, North Dakota, Michigan State and Lake Superior State.

Each year the traditional start to the college hockey season begins with the Ice Breaker event and this year the Cross Insurance Arena in Portland will be host site on October 9th and 10th.

College Hockey Inc. manages the event for the Hockey Commissioners Association.

Friday October 9th:


4:30pm  North Dakota vs Lake Superior State

8:00pm  Maine vs Michigan State


Saturday October 10th:        

                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                      4:30pm Lake Superior State vs Michigan State

8:00pm Maine vs North Dakota

Year Host Site Field (Champion in Boldface)
1997 University of Wisconsin Dane County Coliseum (Madison) BU, Clarkson, Michigan State, Wisconsin
1998 University of Minnesota Mariucci (Minneapolis) BC, Minnesota, Ohio State, St. Lawrence
1999 University of Denver Magness Arena (Denver) Denver, Notre Dame, Providence, Union
2000 University of Michigan Yost Arena (Ann Arbor) Colgate, Michigan, New Hampshire, North Dakota
2001 University of Maine Alfond Arena (Orono) Bowling Green, Clarkson, Maine, St. Cloud
2002 University of Wisconsin Kohl Center (Madison) BU, Northern Michigan, Rensselaer, Wisconsin
2003 Michigan State University Munn Arena (East Lansing) BC, Findlay, Minnesota-Duluth, Michigan State
2004 New Hampshire Whittemore Center (Durham) New Hampshire, Ohio St., St. Cloud, St. Lawrence
2005 Colorado College World Arena (Colorado Springs) Air Force, Colorado College, Maine, Union
2006 Miami University Goggin Ice Arena (Oxford) Colgate, Denver, Miami, Vermont
2007 University of Minnesota Xcel Energy Center (St. Paul) BC, Michigan, Minnesota, Rensselaer
2008 Boston University Agganis Arena (Boston) BU, UMass, Michigan State, North Dakota
2009 Nebraska-Omaha Qwest Center (Omaha) Army, UMass Lowell, Nebraska-Omaha, St. Lawrence
2010 St. Louis Sports Commission Scottrade Center (St. Louis) BU, Holy Cross, Notre Dame, Wisconsin
2011 University of North Dakota Ralph Engelstad Arena (Grand Forks) Air Force, BC, Michigan State, North Dakota
2012 Kansas City Sports Commission Sprint Center (Kansas City) Army, Maine, Nebraska-Omaha, Notre Dame
2013 University of Minnesota Mariucci Arena (Minneapolis) Clarkson, Mercyhurst, Minnesota, New Hampshire
2014 University of Notre Dame Compton Family Ice Arena (South Bend) Minnesota, Minnesota Duluth, Notre Dame, Rensselaer
2015 University of Maine Cross Arena (Portland)