hobey2The first annual Maine high school Hobey Baker Character award winners have been announced.The awards are given annually to one high school senior from each participating boys/girls hockey team in the state. The award recognizes student-athletes for displaying exemplary character and sportsmanship in their schools and communities.

The program is run through the Maine Interscholastic Hockey Coaches Association in conjunction with the Hobey Baker Foundation and winners are selected by the coach of each team. Some of the local winners are listed below.

  • Carl Farnham - Bangor
  • Spencer Valley - Brewer
  • Cooper Antone - Hampden Academy
  • Trevor Francis - Orono
  • Alex LaFrance - John Bapst
  • Chase Cunningham - Massalonskee
  • Tyler Boudreau - Lawrence
  • Will Bolduc - Waterville
  • Jacob Cain - Winslow