Messalonskee HS senior Nick Mayo is Maine's Gatorade Basketball Player of the Year. The 6-foot-8 center averaged 24 points and 13 rebounds a game. He was named KVAC conference player of the year and a Mr. Maine Basketball finalist.

Mayo will play at division one Eastern Kentucky next year.

Gatorade, in collaboration with USA Today, honor one player from each state. Mayo is now eligible for the national player of the year award.

Earlier in the month, Lawrence HS junior Nia Irving was named girls Gatorade state winner.

Previous boys Gatorade winners include....

2014   Zach Gilpin ( Hampden Academy)

2013   Garet Beal (Jonesport-Beals)

2012   Garet Beal (Jonesport-Beals)

2011   Tyler McFarland (Camden Hills)

2010   Stefano Mancini (Falmouth)

2009   Thomas Knight (Dirigo)

2008   Ryan Martin (Maranacook)

2007   Troy Barnies (Edward Little)