The new landscape for high school football in Maine begins this fall. The Maine Principals' Association has approved a new system calling for four classes (A,B,C,D).

At the spring MPA conference in Rockport Thursday morning, the reclassification plan was approved for all sports. The major impact involves football, creating a fourth class for the first time.

Beginning this fall the Eastern Maine football structure will go like this.

Class A (875+)  Bangor, Lewiston, Windham, Oxford Hills, Edward Little, Deering, Portland and Cheverus.

Class B (600-874) Brunswick, Skowhegan, Messolonskee, Cony, Hampden, Mt.Blue, Lawrence, Brewer and Gardiner.

Class C (454-599) Nokomis, Camden Hills, Belfast, Waterville, Madison/Carrabec, Hermon, MDI, Old Town, Winslow, Foxcroft

Class D (0-454) Ellsworth/Sumner, John Bapst, Mt.View, MCI, Washington Academy, Bucksport, Orono, Mattanawcook Academy, Dexter, Stearns

* Nokomis, Camden Hills, Ellsworth/Sumner applied to lower classification and will be ineligible for playoffs.

SportsRadio 92.9TheTicket and brings you live high school football coverage.