UMaine quarterback Marcus Wasilewski is one of three Black Bear athletes to win a Dean Smith Award for academic excellence. Holly Stewart (UM field hockey) and Kelton Cullenberg (UM cross country/track) were also award winners.

The Dean Smith Award began in 1993 and is named after former Foxcroft Academy and UM basketball player Dean Smith who won the national NCAA Walter Byers Award for academic excellence.

Wasilewski graduated in May with a degree in kinesiology and physical education and is pursuing a master's degree.

Most years the award goes to the top male and female student-athlete but this year two male athletes are winners. Cullenberg is the second winner, a four time 4.0 GPA and Presidential Scholar Award winner.

The top female student-athlete, Holly Stewart was second in scoring for field hockey and has a 3.98 GPA.