UMaine's senior linebacker Sterling Sheffield has been added to the Buck Buchanan Award 'Watch List'.

That means he'll be added to a list of players who could win the coveted 'best defensive player in FCS football' honor.

Sheffield has 8.5 sacks and that is tops in the Colonial Athletic Association and is 9th best in the nation. He is tied for the league lead in tackles for a loss with 12.

Add in the fact that that Sheffield has two fumble recoveries, two forced fumbles, an interception and 59 total tackles.

He is now one of 37 defensive players on the list provided by STATS FSC.

The award is named for the great former Kansas City Chiefs lineman Buck Buchanan who played his college football at Grambling. He is in the College Football Hall of Fame and the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

Check out the list of past Buck Buchanan Award winners...

2017 Darius Jackson, Jacksonville State
2016 Karter Schult, Northern Iowa
2015 Deon King, Norfolk State
2014 Kyle Emanuel, North Dakota State
2013 Brad Daly, Montana State
2012 Caleb Schreibeis, Montana State
2011 Matt Evans, New Hampshire
2010 J.C. Sherritt, Eastern Washington
2009 Arthur Moats, James Madison
2008 Greg Peach, Eastern Washington
2007 Kroy Biermann, Montana
2006 Kyle Shotwell, Cal Poly
2005 Chris Gocong, Cal Poly
2004 Jordan Beck, Cal Poly
2003 Jared Allen, Idaho State
2002 Rashean Mathis, Bethune-Cookman
2001 Derrick Lloyd, JMU
2000 Edgerton Hartwell, Western Illinois
1999 Al Lucas, Troy State
1998 James Milton, Western Illinois
1997 Chris McNeil, North Carolina A&T
1996 Dexter Coakley, Appalachian State
1995 Dexter Coakley, Appalachian State