Contact Us

Bapst Coach O’Connell Advances In National Competition

John Bapst football coach Dan O’Connell has advanced in the USA Today America’s Best High School Football Coach competition. Voting in the state round closed Tuesday with O’Connell edging out Leavitt coach Mike Hathaway by 382 votes. Winners from all 50 states and Washington D.C. will be split into regions with voting to begin Wednesday October 9 at 12 noon. Eight regional winners will advance to the national round which will determine America’s best High School Football Coach.

The athletic department of the winning coach will receive $2,000. Second through fifth places also receive cash prizes for the athletic departments: second ($1,000), third ($500), fourth ($250) and fifth ($100). All eight finalists receive banners for their schools.

Here are the final state voting results.

  • Dan O’Connell – John Bapst     114,773 votes
  • Mike Hathaway – Leavitt            114,391
  • Bob Sinclair – Orono                     8,779
  • Jim Aylward – Mountain Valley      4,201
  • Dick Mynahan – Lisbon                 1,589
  • John Hersom – Lawrence             1,245
  • Kevin Cooper – Bonny Eagle         1,195
  • John Wolfgram – Cheverus           1,069

Best of 92.9 The Ticket

Recommended for You

Best of the Web

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

*Please note that your prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to using your original account information.

*Please note that your prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for Stub Club quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!

Sign up to have exclusive Stub Club contests, events, coupons, presales, and much more delivered to you for FREE.