Cony QB Ben Lucas and MDI RB Teagan Candage are two of the 12 semi-finalists for the Fitzpatrick Trophy Award, which is given to the top senior player in Maine each year.

Lucas led Cony to its first state title since 1932. He threw for over 300 yards and 3 touchdowns in that win over Kennebunk. Lucas had 89 TD passes in his career.


WDEA Radio

Candage helped the (7-3) Trojans from MDI to a Class C semi-final playoff appearance. He rushed for 12 TD's and a Class C leading 1,184 yards.

Other seniors on the semi-final list for the Fitzy...

Justin Zukowski - Portland

Cody O'Brien - Cheverus

Corey Creeger - Biddeford

Nicco DeLorenzo - Kennebunk

Ben Greenberg - Scarborough

Kyle Heath - Westbrook

Cody Lynn - Thornton Academy

Levi Morin - Leavitt

Duncan Preston - South Portland

Jedediah Scott - Sanford

The list will be trimmed to three finalists and the award banquet is set for Sunday January 19th in Portland.

This is the 43rd year for the Fitzpatrick Trophy.