Scarborough High School senior forward Matt Caron is 2016 Travis Roy Award winner. The honor goes to the top Class A hockey player in Maine.

Other finalists for the award include Bangor's Trevor DeLaite, EL's Ben Steele and Thornton Academy's Walsh Troiana-Gagner.

Caron helped the Red Storm win their first state title a year ago and led Scarborough to the state title game again this year before losing to Lewiston.

The award is named after the former Yarmouth and NYA player Travis Roy. He was paralyzed after hitting the boards just 11-seconds into his college career at Boston University.

Travis Roy Award Winners and Finalists by year





2015 Isac Nordstrom Falmouth Yachtsmen Winner
Andrew Whipple South Portland Red Riots Finalist
Brad Berube St. Dominic Saints Finalist
Cody Martin Lawrence / Skowhegan Bandits Finalist
2014 Kyle Lemelin Lewiston Blue Devils Winner
Alex Fallon Thornton Academy Finalist
Justin Courtney Bangor Rams Finalist
Nik Lemieux Biddeford Tigers Finalist
2013 Parker Sanderson Bangor Rams Winner
Cameron McLain Cheverus Stags Finalist
Grant Carrier St. Dominic Saints Finalist
Nick Bagley Scarborough Red Storm Finalist
2012 C.J. Maksut Thornton Academy Golden Trojans Winner
Brandon Tiner Lewiston Blue Devils Finalist
Chris Howat Bangor Rams Finalist
Taylor Reuillard Biddeford Tigers Finalist
2011 Cam Poussard Lewiston Blue Devils Winner
Alex Parker St. Dominic Saints Finalist
Nick Gagne Biddeford Tigers Finalist
Sam Canales Thornton Academy Golden Trojans Finalist
2010 Trevor Fleurent Biddeford TIgers Winner
Nick George Bangor Rams Finalist
Mat Gordon Edward Little Red Eddies Finalist
Rick Hebb Thornton Academy Golden Trojans Finalist
2009 Richard Paradis St. Dominic Saints Winner
Dylan Fitzpatrick Brewer Witches Finalist
Mike Chase Falmouth Yachtsmen Finalist
Shawn Lee Waterville Purple Panthers Finalist
2008 Tony Dube Biddeford Tigers Winner
Derek Kump Falmouth Yachtsmen Finalist
Jon Roy Lewiston Blue Devils Finalist
Matt Delguidice Messalonskee Eagles Finalist
2007 Kit Smith Brunswick Dragons Winner
Brent Mayo Scarborough Red Storm Finalist
James Tolan Falmouth Yachtsmen Finalist
2006 Ted Fabian Messalonskee Eagles Winner
Kyle Baker Kennebunk Rams Finalist
Sam Johnson Cheverus Stags Finalist
2005 Peter Gustavson Falmouth Yachtsmen Winner
Aaron Buzzell Bangor Rams Finalist
Jon Rutt St. Dominic Saints Finalist
2004 Kyle Smith Edward Little Red Eddies Winner
Dan Bartlett NYA Finalist
Mark Rogers Mt. Ararat Finalist
2003 Nate Hart Waterville Purple Panthers Winner
Jay Morgan Portland Finalist
Ryan Shelley Cheverus Stags Finalist
2002 Josh Benson Edward Little Red Eddies Winner
Nate Brown Cheverus Stags Finalist
Josh Hart Waterville Purple Panthers Finalist
2001 Joey Dumais St. Dominic Saints Winner
Justin Libby Bangor Rams Finalist
Kyle McMorrow Waterville Purple Panthers Finalist
2000 J.D.Walker Portland Winner
Brian Andrews St. Dominic Saints Finalist
Nick Meintell NYA Finalist
1999 Chad Hart Waterville Purple Panthers Winner
Derek Damon St. Dominic Saints Finalist
Bostjan Kolaric Cony Rams Finalist
1998 Casey Laflamme Biddeford Tigers Winner
Brian Carpenter Lewiston Blue Devils Finalist
Brian Gagne NYA Finalist
1997 Matt Greason NYA Winner
Tim Desmarais St. Dominic Saints Finalist
Keith Genest Cony Rams Finalist
1996 Brian Toussaint St. Dominic Saints Winner
Mike Cohen Finalist
Ed Washuk Cony Rams Finalist
John Lauziere Lewiston Blue Devils Finalist