Contact Us

Rebar, Morrow Among Finalists For John Winkin Award

OT Ball 2 BB.jpg


Four players from the east and three players from the west make up the list of finalists for the Mr.Baseball Award, given each year to the top high school senior baseball player.

The 2013 list includes….Ryan Rebar(Foxcroft), Jordan Morrow(Stearns), Jordan Croteau(Oxford HIlls), Zach LaChance(Cony), Tom Fortier(Falmouth), Jimmy Theriault(St.Doms) and Andrew Butler(Waynflete).

The award is called the Dr.John Winkin Mr. Baseball Award. Winkin was a long time coach at Colby, UMaine and Husson.

The award is given at the Maine Senior All Star Game set for Friday June 21st at Mahaney Diamond in Orono. Game time is 6:30PM.

Here’s a list of past winners….

John W Winkin Award Winners
Given annual to the best High School player in the State of Maine.
Named after Hall of Fame Coach John Winkin
1992    Steve Coombs                    Lee Academy HS
            University of Maine
1993    Nick Ciaazzo                      Deering HS
            University of Maine
1994    Andy Estabrook                Yarmouth HS
            University of Maine
1995    Matt Kinney                        Bangor HS
            Drafted – 8th Round
1996    Matt Truman                       Oxford Hills HS
            University of Maine
1997    Brandon Brewer                Greely HS
            University of Maine
1998    Pat Liddy                             Mt. Blue HS
            University of Southern Maine
1999    Stu Tisdale                          Deering HS
            Fordham University
2000    Jason Harvey                     Bucksport HS
            Husson College
2001    Greg Creek                          Maranacook HS
            University of Maine
2002    Greg Norton                        South Portland HS
            University of Maine
2003    Ross Canatara                    Biddeford HS
            University of Maine
2004    Mark Rogers                        Mt Ararat HS
            Drafted – 1st Round
2005    Ryan Flaherty                      Deering HS
            Vanderbilt University
2006   Colin Henry                          George Stevens Academy
            University of Southern Maine
2007   Jarret Lukas                         Old Town HS
            University of Maine
2008    Kyle Stilphen                       Gardiner HS
            University of Maine
2009    Chris Bernard                       Scarborough HS
            University of Maine           
2010    Matt Verrier                           Oxford Hills Comprehensive HS                          
           University of Maine          
2011    Sam Balzano                          Deering High School                         
           University of Maine






Best of 92.9 The Ticket

Recommended for You

Best of the Web

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

*Please note that your prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to using your original account information.

*Please note that your prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for Stub Club quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!

Sign up to have exclusive Stub Club contests, events, coupons, presales, and much more delivered to you for FREE.