The National Hockey League awards were handed out in Las Vegas on Wednesday night and Patrick Kane and Braden Holtby took home the top prizes with the Hart and Vezina Trophies respectively.

Former UMaine Black Bear Ben Bishop finished second in the Vezina voting and finished 89 votes behind Holtby for the award.

Boston Bruin Patrice Bergeron lost the Selke Trophy to Anze Kopitar by 149 votes and finished second in that category during the awards.  Loui Eriksson also missed out on the Lady Byng, finishing in third place behind Anze Kopitar.

The event was hosted by actor/comedian Will Arnett.  The NHL earlier in the day announced that Las Vegas was officially approved for an expansion team that will begin play in the 2017-18 season.  It will be the first major professional sports franchise in history to be located in the city.

Full List Of Winners

Calder Trophy (Top Rookie)

Artemi Panarin (Chicago)


Ted Lindsay Award (Most Outstanding Player – Voted By Players)

Patrick Kane (Chicago)


General Manager of the Year

Jim Rutherford (Pittsburgh)


Masterton Trophy (Perservance & Dedication To Hockey)

Jaromir Jagr (Florida)


Mark Messier NHL Leadership Award

Shea Weber (Nashville)


King Clancy Memorial Trophy (Leadership On & Off Ice)

Henrik Sedin (Vancouver)


NHL Foundation Player Award (Community Service)

Mark Giordano (Calgary)


EA NHL 17 Cover Athlete

Vladimir Tarasenko (St Louis)


Norris Trophy (Top Defenseman)

Drew Doughty (Los Angeles)


Selke Trophy (Best Defensive Forward)

Anze Kopitar (Los Angeles)


Jack Adams Award (Top Head Coach)

Anders Holm (Washington)


Lady Byng Trophy (Best Sportsmanship & Ability)

Anze Kopitar (Los Angeles)


Vezina Trophy (Top Goaltender)

Braden Holtby (Washington)


Hart Trophy (Most Valuable Player To His Team)

Patrick Kane (Chicago)