Reggie Wayne was thought to be an important free agent signing for the New England Patriots late in Training Camp. On Saturday he asked for his release from the team.Speculation around the league is that after playing in a couple games, Wayne might be considering retirement as it seems unlikely the Pats would allow him to leave only to sign with another team.

With Wayne off the roster the Pats also cut 10 players to get down to the mandatory 53 players. The most surprising cut was running back Jonas Gray who became a household name after his week 11 performance when he scored 4 touchdowns against the Colts.

The team also announced that wide receiver Brandon LaFell will start the season on the PUP list. This means he cannot play until week 7 when the Pats host the New York Jets. LaFell has been trying to come back form an off season foot injury.

Below is a list of the 11 players cut by the Patriots.

TE Asante Cleveland

LB Darius Fleming

RB Jonas Gray

CB Robert McClain

DL Zach Moore

WR Jalen Saunders

WR Reggie Wayne

DB Daxton Swanson

DB Justin Coleman

LB Xzavier Dickson

S Brandon King

New England opens the season Thursday against the Pittsburgh Steelers. You can hear the game live on Sports Radio 92.9 The Ticket.