Aaron Rogers named MVP. Eight greats named to the Hall of Fame. Not a bad news day for pro football leading up to today's Super Bowl.

The Hall of Fame elected six players and two executives to Canton. The list includes...

Junior Seau - LB, San Diego, New England Patriots

Will Shields - OG, Kansas City Chiefs

Jerome Bettis - RB, Pittsburgh Steelers

Mick Tingelhoff - C, Minnesota Vikes

Tim Brown - WR, Oakland Raiders

Charles Haley - DE, Dallas Cowboys, SF 49ers

Ron Wolf - Executive, Green Bay Packers

Bill Polian - Executive, Buffalo Bills, Indianapolis Colts

In the MVP voting, Packers QB Aaron Rodgers won his second award, beating out Houston defensive end JJ Watt.

Rodgers TD-to-Interception ratio was fifth best alltime (38 TDs, 5 Ints).

Player   MVP Votes

Aaron Rodgers, Green Bay            31

J.J. Watt, Houston                        13

Tony Romo, Dallas                        2

DeMarco Murray, Dallas                 2

Tom Brady, New England               1

Bobby Wagner, Seattle                   1