Bangor High School's Garth Berenyi and Kristina Kelly of Camden Hills were both named All-Americans at the 44th Maine Soccer Coaches Association All-Star Banquet.

Along with Berenyi and Kelly, Luke Groothoff and Dara D'Appolonia of Yarmouth High School were also named as All-Americans for their efforts during the 2017 soccer season.  Berenyi and Groothoff were named as the Class A and B Players of the Year, while Ilyas Abdi of Waynflete and Luke Chandler of Bangor Christian were selected as the Class C and D honorees.  Kelly and D'Appolonia were also the top players in their classes with Kolleen Bouchard of Houlton and Caitlin Kendrick of Richmond taking home the Class C and D girls player of the year.

Berenyi is the all-time leader scorer for the Rams' boys soccer program, after achieving that mark in his senior season.  Both Bouchard and Chandler helped their sides to State Championships this Fall in the North.


In addition to the individual player awards, Michael McGraw of Lewiston High School and Tim Tweedie of Houlton High School were given the Coach of the Year Award by the organization on the  boys and girls side respectively in Northern Maine.

Full List of Award Winners



Garth Berenyi (Bangor High School)

Luke Groothoff (Yarmouth High School)


Kristina Kelly (Camden Hills High School)

Sara D’Appolonia (Yarmouth High School)


All Region


Garth Berenyi (Bangor High School:

Luke Groothoff (Yarmouth High School:

Kyle King (Gorham High School:

Michael Wildes (Winslow High School:

Nate Arrants (Falmouth High School:

Eric LaBrie (Yarmouth High School:

Bilal Hersi (Lewiston High School:

Charlie Cronin (South Portland High School)



Kristina Kelly (Camden Hills High School)

Sara D’Appolonia, (Yarmouth High School)

Gaby Paganakos (Scarborough High School)

Anika Elias (Waterville High School)

Kolleen Bouchard (Houlton High School)

Madison Michaud (Presque Isle High School)

Kassie Krul (Camden Hills High School)

Eliza Jansujwicz (Bangor High School)

Alex Allain (Hermon High School)


Class Players of the Year


Class A – Garth Berenyi of Bangor High School,

Class B – Luke Groothoff of Yarmouth High School,

Class C – Ilyas Abdi of Waynflete School,

Class D –  Luke Chandler of Bangor Christian



Class A – Kristina Kelly of Camden Hills High School,

Class B – Sara D’Appolonia of Yarmouth High School,

Class C – Kolleen Bouchard of Houlton High School,

Class D–  Caitlin Kendrick of Richmond High School


Northern Maine Boys State Team

Bangor: Garth Berenyi, Jacob Berenyi, & Jack Bourassa

Camden Hills: Lucas Boetsch

Edward Little: Alex Thompson

Lewiston: Bilal Hersi

Brewer: Gavin Matthieu

Caribou: Alex Ezzy

Foxcroft Academy: Levi Stedman

Presque Isle: Griffin Guerette

Washington Academy: Diione Millett

Winslow: Michael Wildes

Dexter: Matthew Richards

Fort Kent: Niko Naranja

George Stevens Academy: Taylor Schildroth

Piscataquis: Bryce Gilbert

Bangor Christian: Luke Chandler


Southern Maine Boys State Team

Cheverus: Luc Dionne

Falmouth: Nate Arrants & Ben Wuesthoff

Gorham: Kyle King & Andrew Rent

Portland: Quinn Clarke

South Portland: Charlie Cronin &; Riley Hasson

Greely: Hazael Tshituka

Yarmouth: Luke Groothoff & Eric LaBrie

York: Alex Nickerson

Mt. Abram: Evan Allen

Waynflete: Ilyas Abdi

Buckfield: Ethan Jackson

Richmond: Matthew Rines


Northern Maine Girls State Team

Bangor: Eliza Jansujwicz

Brunswick: Maeve Arthur

Camden Hills: Kristina Kelly & Kassie Krul

Brewer: Cassie Brown & Maria Low

Caribou: Searra Herbert & Hope Shea

Erskine Academy: Kayla Hubbard

Hermon: Alex Allain

Presque Isle: Madison Michaud

Waterville: Anika Elias

George Stevens Academy: Bess MacArthur

Houlton: Kolleen Bouchard

Ashland: Morgan Doughty

Madawaska: Hannah Nadeau

Penobscot Valley: Lexi Ireland


Southern Maine Girls State Team

Cheverus: Emma Gallant & Michaela Jordan

Gorham: Emma Forgues

Kennebunk: Hallie Schwartzman

Marshwood: Marin Smith

Scarborough: Ellie Patten, Gaby Panagakos, Emily Royce, & Lauren Sabatino

South Portland: Juliana Selser

Wells: Hannah Cottis

Yarmouth: Hannah Corey & Sara D’Appolonia

Madison: Ashley Emery

Monmouth Academy: Tia Day

Richmond: Caitlin Kendrick


Maine Soccer Coaches Coach of the Year


Northern Maine – Michael McGraw of Lewiston High School

Southern Maine – Rocco Frenzelli of Portland High School


Northern Maine – Tim Tweedie of Houlton High School

Southern Maine – Michael Farley of Scarborough High School


United Soccer Coaches Region 1 Coach of the Year Nominees


Large School – Michael McGraw of Lewiston High School

Small School – Don Beckwith of Maranacook High School

Private School – Aaron Wilcox of Bangor Christian



Large School – Meredith Messer of Camden Hills Highs School

Small School – Tim Tweedie of Houlton High School

More From 92.9 The Ticket