Mattanawcook Academy's Cayden Spencer-Thompson is Maine's Gatorade Boys Track & Field Athlete of the Year. Westbrook's Nyagoa Bayak wins the girls Maine Gatorade Award.

Spencer-Thompson just finished his junior year at MA and set two state records at the New England Championships. In the Long Jump, his distance was 24-feet 1.75-inches. In the Triple Jump, Spencer-Thompson jumped 48 -3.75.

He is the state Class C high school champ in both events.

Spencer-Thompson also plays football and basketball for the Lynx.

Past Maine Gatorade T&F Award winners include...

2016-17     Jake Koffman (Orono)

2015-16     Sam Rusak (Lewiston)

2014-15     Isaiah Harris (Lewiston)

2013-14     Dan Curtis (Ellsworth)

NOTE: Westbrook High School jumper Nyagoa Bayak is the girls Gatorade winner. She won the Class A High Jump and was second in the Triple Jump at the state meet. Bayak also won the High Jump competition at the New England Championships.

More From 92.9 The Ticket