New Hampshire football coach Sean McDonnell is 2014 Eddie Robinson Award winner as the nation's top FCS coach. His Wildcats are in the NCAA playoffs for an 11th straight year.

In the voting conducted by The Sports Network, McDonnell received 46 first place votes.

Former UMaine coach, now Harvard coach Tim Murphy was third in the voting.

A year ago, when UMaine won the CAA title, Jack Cosgrove was a finalist for this national award.

McDonnell and his UNH team lost the season opener to FBS Toledo. Since then the Wildcats have gone undefeated. 10 regular season wins and a #1 national seed. A playoff game Saturday against Eastern Illinois for the right to go to the national championship game.

It is McDonnell's second time winning the national coach of the year award. He also won back in 2005.

He has been head coach at UNH for 16 seasons.