Hockey East has unveiled its 35th Anniversary Team and it won't surprise UMaine fans that Paul Kariya was the top vote-getter. In fact, the Black Bears have three of the top 10 players in the special team.

The Hobey Baker winner Kariya, who is now in the Hockey Hall of Fame, racked up 719 votes. Several of his teammates from that 1992-93 national championship team are also on the 35th Anniversary team.

Former UMass goalie Jonathan Quick was second in the voting.

NCAA Mens Hockey - Frozen Four - Semifinals - Wisconsin vs Maine
Getty Images       (UMaine goalie Ben Bishop)

UMaine goalie Ben Bishop was 8th in votes and while Black Bears goalie Jimmy Howard was 9h.

In total, 14 Maine players are on the team plus two honorable mentions...

Paul Kariya - Forward
Jim Montgomery - Forward
Gustav Nyquist - Forward
Scott Pellerin - Forward
Jean Yves-Roy - Forward
Bob Beers - Defense
Ben Bishop - Goaltender
Keith Carney - Defense
Mike Dunham - Goaltender
Jimmy Howard - Goaltender
Chris Imes - Defense
Peter Metcalf - Defense
Garth Snow - Goaltender
Eric Weinrich - Defense
Honorable Mention: Niko Dimitrakos and Jack Capuano

Maine v Boston College
Getty Images              (UMaine goalie Jimmy Howard)

(Chosen in March of 2019 by fans, coaches, officials and media.)

The Offense
Tony Amonte, Boston University
Tim Army, Providence
Cam Atkinson, Boston College
Brian Boyle, Boston College
Bobby Butler, New Hampshire
John Cullen, Boston University
Stephane Da Costa, Merrimack
Chris Drury, Boston University
Ben Eaves, Boston College
Jack Eichel, Boston University
David Emma, Boston College
Adam Gaudette, Northeastern
Johnny Gaudreau, Boston College
Rob Gaudreau, Providence
Nathan Gerbe, Boston College
Brian Gionta, Boston College
Mike Grier, Boston University
Darren Haydar, New Hampshire
Craig Janney, Boston College
Paul Kariya, Maine
Jason Krog, New Hampshire
Shawn McEachern, Boston University
Jim Montgomery, Maine
Jon Morris, UMass Lowell
Mark Mowers, New Hampshire
Gustav Nyquist, Maine
Jay Pandolfo, Boston University
Scott Pellerin, Maine
Marty Reasoner, Boston College
Kevin Roy, Northeastern
David Sacco, Boston University
Viktor Stalberg, Vermont
Kevin Stevens, Boston College
James van Riemsdyk, New Hampshire
Jean-Yves Roy, Maine
Honorable Mention (15): Zach Aston-Reese, NU; Niko Dimitrakos, Maine; Patrick Eaves, BC; Joe Gambardella, UML; Kevin Hayes, BC; Steve Heinze, BC; Chris Kreider, BC; Maxim Letunov, UConn; James Marcou, UMass; Danny O'Regan, BU; Steve Saviano, UNH; Bret Seney, Merrimack; Dylan Sikura, NU; Tage Thompson, UConn; Colin Wilson, BU.

The Defense
Mike Ayers, New Hampshire, G
Bob Beers, Maine, D
Ben Bishop, Maine, G
Greg Brown, Boston College, D
Keith Carney, Maine, D
Ty Conklin, New Hampshire, G
Rob Cowie, Northeastern, D
John Curry, Boston University, G
Brian Dumoulin, Boston College, D
Mike Dunham, Maine, G
Jim Fahey, Northeastern, D
Matt Gilroy, Boston University, D
Matt Grzelcyk, Boston University, D
Ron Hainsey, UMass Lowell, D
Connor Hellebuyck, UMass Lowell, G
Jimmy Howard, Maine, G
Chris Imes, Maine, D
Brian Leetch, Boston College, D
Cale Makar, Massachusetts, D
Charlie McAvoy, Boston University, D
Dan McGillis, Northeastern, D
Peter Metcalf, Maine, D
Mike Mottau, Boston College, D
John Muse, Boston College, G
Thomas Poeck, Massachusetts, D
Tom Poti, Boston University, D
Jonathan Quick, Massachusetts, G
Bruce Racine, Northeastern, G
Kevin Regan, New Hampshire, G
Dwayne Roloson, UMass Lowell, G
Cory Schneider, Boston College, G
Kevin Shattenkirk, Boston University, D
Garth Snow, Maine, G
Chris Terreri, Providence, G
Eric Weinrich, Maine, D
Honorable Mention (15): Andrew Alberts, BC, D; Kevin Boyle, UML, G; Justin Braun, UMass, D; Joe Cannata, Merrimack, G; Jack Capuano, Maine, D; Jeremy Davies, NU, D; Thatcher Demko, BC, G; Rick DiPietro, BU, G; Jon Gillies, PC, G; Michael Matheson, BC, D; Chad Ruhwedel, UML, D; Chris Therrien, PC, D; Brad Thiessen, NU, G; Trevor vanRiemsdyk, UNH, D; Jake Walman, PC, D.

More From 92.9 The Ticket