The semi-finalists for the 2016 Frank J. Gaziano Memorial Offensive and Defensive Lineman Awards were announced on Monday.  Brewer’s Austin Lufkin and Orono’s Mark Lucy were among the nominees selected to represent the final 15 semifinalists.

Lucy was given the nod on the offensive line as he protected Orono quarterback Jackson Coutts as the center, and helped the Red Riots to a berth in the Class D North Region semi-final.  Lufkin, who played on both sides of the line, was recognized for his defensive accomplishments with the Witches, as Brewer made it to the Class B North Finals this past season.

Lucy (75 at the center position) snapping the ball // Sports Radio 92.9 The Ticket

"Each of the semi-finalists has proven to be dedicated to their sport, academics and their communities," said Jeff Kane, the son-in-law of Graziano and the president of National Distributors, Inc, in a Monday afternoon press release. "The selection committee will now begin a very comprehensive evaluation process to learn more about each these fine young men to learn more about what makes each one of them unique and most deserving of the award and scholarship. All of the semi-finalists and their families should be very proud of what they have accomplished and the future ahead for these young men."

One lineman from each the offensive and defensive side of the ball will be honored with a trophy and a $5,000 scholarship, while four runners-up will also receive $1,000.  The winners will be announced at a luncheon on January 28th at the Augusta Civic Center.


Lufkin (61) tries to make a defensive play for Brewer // Sports Radio 92.9 The Ticket

Gaziano Lineman Award Semi-finalists: 

Offensive Linemen

Nicholas Bartholomew, Thornton Academy

Sullivan Boyd, Brunswick

John Fallon III, Falmouth

Parker Gammon, Bonny Eagle

Nathaniel Jordan, Cape Elizabeth

Dakota Joy, Scarborough

Mark Lucy, Orono

Bryce Whittemore, Dirigo

Dylan Wike, Portland


Defensive Linemen

Mitchell Del Frate, Oceanside

Nicholas Giaquinto, Portland

Jacob Jordan, Cape Elizabeth

Austin Lufkin, Brewer

David Redmond, Westbrook

Raffaele Salamone, Deering