Old Town's Erik McCarthy not only won the 57th annual Bangor Labor Day Roadrace, he tied Hall of Famer Bob Hillgrove for most wins with seven.

Hillgrove is in the Maine Running Hall of Fame and dominated the roadrace scene in the 1960s and 70s.

Now McCarthy is dominating these days. He has now won the last six Bangor Labor Day races.

Labor Day Race 2019 2 E McCarthy
Sports Radio 92.9 The Ticket Photo    (7-Time Winner Erik McCarthy)

This year's winning time for McCarthy was 26:25. That's 16 seconds faster than second place finisher Nick Wheeler (Bangor) and 18 faster than third place finisher Adam Goode (Topsham).

Labor Day Race 2019 4
Sports Radio 92.9 The Ticket Photo      (Female Winner Abby Iselborn)

Bangor's Abby Iselborn was the top female finisher with a time of 31:44. That's 11th best overall. She was a standout runner at McCauley High School in Portland.

A little over 100 runners took part in one of the Maine's oldest road race.

More From 92.9 The Ticket