Colby College hockey coach Blaise MacDonald received his American Hockey Coaches Association/AHCA National D-III Coach of the Year Award last night at the annual convention in Florida.

MacDonald led the Mules to a NESCAC conference title and then kept winning all the way to the NCAA D-III Frozen Four. Colby lost in the national semi-final to eventual national champ St. Norbert 4-3.

The Mules finished the season a school best 17-11-2 and finished #6 in final USCHO national poll.

MacDonald has coached at Colby for six seasons. He spent time before Colby as head coach at Niagara and UMass Lowell.

The AHCA convention brings college coaches, along with amateur coaches and others who have a stake in hockey. Coaches discuss rule changes, legislation, tournament issues.

NOTE: Among the featured speakers this week is former UMaine Black Bear Jack Capuano. He is the former head coach of the New York Islanders and spent this past NHL season as associate head coach of the Florida Panthers.

Winners of the Edward Jeremiah Award
(Division III Coach of the Year)
1970 Sid Watson, Bowdoin 1994 Jeff Meredith, Fredonia
1971 Sid Watson, Bowdoin 1995 Bill Beaney, Middlebury
1972 Jack Canniff, Massachusetts 1996 Dean Talafous, WI-River Falls
1973 Jim Cross, Vermont 1997 Mike McShane, Norwich
1974 Barry Urbanski, Boston State 1998 Mike Schwartz, Augsburg
1975 Wendall Forbes, Middlebury 1999 Mike McShane, Norwich
1976 Don Roberts, Gustavus Adolphus 2000 Mike McShane, Norwich
1977 Bill Riley, Jr., Lowell 2001 Wayne Wilson, RIT
1978 Sid Watson, Bowdoin 2002 Dan Stauber, WI-Superior
1979 Don Brose, Mankato State 2003 George Roll, Oswego State
1980 Steve Stirling, Babson 2004 Bill Beaney, Middlebury
1981 Herb Hammond, Plattsburgh State 2005 Terry Skrypek, St. Thomas
1982 Steve Stirling, Babson 2006 Bill Beaney, Middlebury
1983 Mike Gibbons, Bemidji State 2007 Ed Gosek, Oswego State
Peter Van Buskirk, Holy Cross 2008 Tim Coghlin, St. Norbert College
1984 Bob Peters, Bemidji State 2009 Dominick Dawes, Neumann College
1985 Rob Riley, Babson 2010 Mike McShane, Norwich
1986 Terry Meagher, Bowdoin 2011 Tim Coghlin, St. Norbert College
1987 Tony Mariano, Norwich 2012 Jack Arena, Amherst College
1988 Glenn Thomaris, Elmira 2013 Matt Loen, UW-Eau Claire
1989 Terry Meagher, Bowdoin 2014 Chris Schultz, Geneseo
1990 Bill Beaney, Middlebury 2015 Jack Arena, Amherst College
1991 Glenn Thomaris, Elmira 2016 Chris Schultz, Geneseo
Peter Belisle, UMass Boston
1992 Bruce Marshall, Connecticut 2017 Mike McShane, Norwich
1993 Joe Baldarotta, WI-Stevens Point 2018 Blaise MacDonald, Colby College