For the 9th time in his career, University of Southern Maine baseball coach Ed Flaherty has been named Little East Conference Coach of the Year. And, former Winslow HS standout Dylan Hapworth has been named LEC Rookie of the Year.

Flaherty led the Huskies to a LEC best 12-2 record (30-11 overall). The team will play in the NCAA Division III New York Regional in Syracuse starting Thursday.

Hapworth has had an outstanding freshman season, .404 batting average, 9 HRs, 39 RBI.

OF Hapworth, INF/P Jake Dexter, and P Dalton Rice are LEC first team all-conference.

2017 Little East Conference Baseball Awards

Player of the Year
Alex Zachary, Senior, Eastern Connecticut State

Pitcher of the Year
Michael Crimi, Senior, Keene State

Rookie of the Year
Dylan Hapworth, Freshman, Southern Maine

Coach of the Year
Ed Flaherty, Southern Maine

USM Hapworth
USM Athletics Photo / LEC Rookie of the Year Dylan Hapworth

More From 92.9 The Ticket