For the first time in program history the Husson University football team finishes the year in the national top-25 in the American Football Coaches Association (AFCA) final poll.

In fact, the Eagles will finish the year #21 among Division III programs across the country. That's tops among New England schools. Springfield finished #23 after the Eagles beat the Pride in the first round of the NCAA Tournament.

Check out the full national poll below...

2017 American Football Coaches Association Division III Coaches’ Poll – December 18, 2017

RankSchool (1st votes)Rec.Pts.Prev.Post-season ResultsHead Coach
1.Mount Union (Ohio) (51)15-012752D. No. 1 Mary Hardin-Baylor (Tex.), 12-0, in national championshipVince Kehres
2.Mary Hardin-Baylor (Tex.)14-112191Lost to No. 2 Mount Union (Ohio), 12-0, in national championshipPete Fredenburg
3.Wisconsin-Oshkosh12-111743Lost to No. 2 Mount Union (Ohio), 43-40, in semifinalsPat Cerroni
4.St. Thomas (Minn.)11-210884Lost to No. 1 Mary Hardin-Baylor (Tex.), 24-10, in quarterfinalsGlenn Caruso
5.Brockport (N.Y.)13-1107711Lost to No. 1 Mary Hardin-Baylor (Tex.), 24-0, in semifinalsJason Mangone
6.Delaware Valley (Pa.)12-19695Lost to No. 11 Brockport (N.Y.), 31-28, in quarterfinalsDuke Greco
7.Linfield (Ore.)9-29178Lost to No. 1 Mary Hardin-Baylor (Tex.), 24-0, in second roundJoseph Smith
8.Wartburg (Iowa)12-187015Lost to No. 3 Wisconsin-Oshkosh, 41-27, in quarterfinalsRick Willis
9.Frostburg St. (Md.)11-278217Lost to No. 2 Mount Union (Ohio), 70-37, in quarterfinalsDeLane Fitzgerald
10.North Central (Ill.)10-277414Lost to No. 3 Wisconsin-Oshkosh, 42-21, in second roundJeff Thorne
11.Hardin-Simmons (Tex.)9-27146Lost to No. 8 Linfield (Ore.), 27-13, in first roundJesse Burleson
12.Washington & Jefferson (Pa.)11-168410Lost to No. 17 Frostburg St. (Md.), 46-23, in second roundMike Sirianni
13.Wesley (Del.)10-267013Lost to No. 11 Brockport (N.Y.), 49-28, in second roundMike Drass
14.St. John’s (Minn.)9-26077Lost to No. 14 North Central (Ill.), 17-7, in first roundGary Fasching
15.Case Western Reserve (Ohio)11-158816Lost to No. 2 Mount Union (Ohio), 45-16, in second roundGreg Debeljak
16.Berry (Ga.)11-152718Lost to No. 4 St. Thomas (Minn.), 29-13, in second roundTony Kunczewski
17.Wittenberg (Ohio)10-14469Lost to No. 17 Frostburg St. (Md.), 35-7, in first roundJoe Fincham
18.Illinois Wesleyan9-241812Lost to No. 16 Case Western Reserve (Ohio), 28-0, in first roundNorm Eash
19.Trine (Ind.)11-132722Lost to No. 15 Wartburg (Iowa), 49-7, in second roundTroy Abbs
20.Johns Hopkins (Md.)9-231319Lost to No. 10 Washington & Jefferson (Pa.), 31-28, in first roundJim Margraff
21.Husson (Maine)10-2186NRLost to No. 5 Delaware Valley (Pa.), 37-15, in second roundGabby Price
22.Concordia-Moorhead (Minn.)8-217923DNQ PlayoffsTerry Horan
23.Springfield (Mass.)10-116120Lost to Husson (Maine), 23-21, in first roundMike Cerasuolo
24.Wheaton (Ill.)8-214321DNQ PlayoffsMike Swider
25.Wisconsin-La Crosse8-210225DNQ PlayoffsMike Schmidt


Others Receiving Votes: Huntingdon (Ala.), 96; Wisconsin-Whitewater, 77; Franklin (Ind.), 44; Washington & Lee (Va.), 31; Rensselaer (N.Y.), 19; Framingham St. (Mass.), 17; Wisconsin-Platteville, 16; Franklin & Marshall (Pa.), 15; Monmouth (Ill.), 10; Plymouth St. (N.H.), 9; Wabash (Ind.), 9; Trinity (Conn.), 7; George Fox (Ore.), 6; Centre (Ky.), 3; Eureka (Ill.), 2; John Carroll (Ohio), 2; Alfred (N.Y.), 1; Chapman (Calif.), 1.

More From 92.9 The Ticket