Former UMaine football coach and now Dartmouth coach, Buddy Teevens, has been named New England Football Writers Coach of the Year. He led his Big Green team to the championship of the Ivy League with a record of 9-1.

The regional award for Teevens adds to a growing list of post season honors that includes Ivy League Coach of the Year and now a finalist for the natioanl 'Eddie Robinson Award' for top FCS coach in the country.

Teevens began his head coaching career at UMaine back in 1985 and 1986, leading the Black Bears to an 11-9 record.

He left Orono to take on the Dartmouth coaching job where he was led the Big Green to Ivy League titles as a player. Teevens went on to be a head coach at Tulane and Stanford before returning to Dartmouth as head coach in 2005.

Teevens is now Dartmouth's all-time winningest coach with 139 victories.


(FCS Coach of the Year - 15 Finalists)

Nathan Brown, Central Arkansas

Kevin Callahan, Monmouth

Bob Chesney, Holy Cross

Curt Cignetti, James Madison

Bernard Clark Jr., Robert Morris

Matt Entz, North Dakota State

Greg Gattuso, UAlbany

Mark Hudspeth, Austin Peay

Dale Lindsey, San Diego

Connell Maynor, Alabama A&M

Ryan McCarthy, Central Connecticut State

Buddy Pough, South Carolina State

Troy Taylor, Sacramento State

Buddy Teevens, Dartmouth

Scott Wachenheim, VMI

More From 92.9 The Ticket