Husson's John Smith was one of 10 semi-finalists but the 2017 Gagliardi Award goes to Wisconsin-Oshkosh quarterback Brett Kasper.

The Gagliardi Trophy goes to the Outstanding Player in Division III football and is named after longtime Saint John's(MN) coach John Gagliardi.

Kasper led his Wisconsin-Oshkosh team to a 12-1 record with their season ending in the national semi-finals. He threw for 3,025 yards and 34 TDs.

NOTE: The Gagliardi Trophy kicks off the D-III championship weekend in Virginia. The title game is between Mary Hardin-Baylor (Texas) and Mount Union (Ohio)...Husson's John Smith led his Eagles team to a first ever NCAA playoff win. Smith finished his college career with the fourth most rush yards in the history of D-III.

More From 92.9 The Ticket