Former UMaine hockey captain and Denver Pioneers coach Jim Montgomery is a finalist for the Spencer Penrose Award. It's the Division I Coach of the Year award.

Montgomery is one of 10 finalists for the award after leading his team to a 31-7-4 record and a berth in the NCAA Frozen Four in Chicago next week.

Two Hockey East coaches are on the list as well - Norm Bazin from UMass Lowell and Jeff Jackson from Notre Dame.

The winner will be announced next Wednesday, April 5th.

2016-2017 AHCA Men's Ice Hockey Spencer Penrose Award Finalists
(CCM/AHCA Division I Coach of the Year)

Norm Bazin, UMass Lowell, Hockey East Coach of the Year*
Rick Bennett, Union, ECAC Hockey Coach of the Year*
Ted Donato, Harvard, NCAA Semi-Finalist
Tony Granato, Wisconsin, Big Ten Coach of the Year
Jeff Jackson, Notre Dame, NCAA Semi-Finalist*
Jim Montgomery, Denver, NCAA Semi-Finalist
Andy Murray, Western Michigan, NCHC Coach of the Year
Scott Sandelin, Minnesota Duluth, NCAA Semi-Finalist*
Tom Serratore, Bemidji State, WCHA Coach of the Year
Dave Smith, Canisius, Atlantic Hockey Coach of the Year
* Past Spencer Penrose Award Winner

NOTE: Two UMaine coaches have won the Spencer Penrose Award...Shawn Walsh (1995) and Tim Whitehead (2002).

More From 92.9 The Ticket