Quinnipiac hockey coach Rand Pecknold is the Spencer Penrose Award winner - the national Coach of the Year. His Bobcats play in the Frozen Four tomorrow in Tampa Bay.

Pecknold wins over seven other finalists, including Denver's Jim Montgomery and Providence College coach Nate Leaman.

Quinnipiac is 31-3-7 heading into the championship event. Pecknold's team won the ECAC regular season title and tournament championship. The Bobcats are the #1 seed in the NCAA field.

Pecknold has coached at Quinnipiac for 22 years and has 445 wins.

North Dakota's Brad Berry was runner-up in voting for the Penrose Award.

NOTE: Former UMaine coaches who have won the National Coach of the Year Award include Shawn Walsh (1995), Tim Whitehead (2002) and Nate Leaman (2011).