Fresh off winning two national titles at the Division III NCAA Swimming Championships, Bangor's Emma Waddell is now up for the National Athlete of the Year Award.

Waddell is a junior at Williams College in Massachusetts. She has three national championships in three years of college swimming and eight individual All-American titles. Waddell was named NESCAC Swimmer of the Year and is a two-time Academic All-NESCAC honoree.

She becomes one of 11 nominees across the country for the 2017 D-III Honda Athlete of the Year Award.

The winner will be announced in June during a CBS Sports telecast in Los Angeles.

Here's a look at past winners...

Past Division III Woman Athlete of the Year Winners

2015-16Sydney Moss, basketball, Thomas More College
2014-15Allyson Fournier, softball, Tufts University
2013-14Christy Cazzolla, track & field, University of Wisconsin-Oshkosh
2012-13Allyson Fournier, softball, Tufts University
2011-12Stacey Hagensen, softball, Pacific Lutheran University
2010-11Kendra Stern, swimming, Amherst College
Marie Borner, track & field, Bethel University
2008-09Ashley Huston, track & field, Hardin-Simmons University
2007-08Sarah Zerzan, cross country, Willamette University
2006-07Liz Bondi, tennis, Depauw University
2005-06Megan Silva, basketball, Randolph-Macon College
2004-05Missy Buttry, cross country, Wartburg College
2003-04Mary Ellen Gordon, tennis, Emory University
2002-03Libby Hysell, softball, Central College
2001-02Julia Bergofsky, field hockey, Middlebury College
2000-01Tasha Rogers, basketball, Washington University
1999-00Alia Fischer, basketball, Washington University
1998-99Kelly Schade, softball, Simpson College
1997-98Tiffany Speckman, cross country, University of Wisconsin-Oshkosh
1996-97Turena Johnson, track and field, Luther College
1995-96Shelley Swan, volleyball, Washington University
1994-95Amy Albers, volleyball, Washington University
1993-94Carla Ainsworth, swimming, Kenyon College
1992-93Jennifer Carter, swimming, Kenyon College
1991-92Kim Oden, track and field, Nebraska Wesleyan University
1990-91Ann Gilbert, basketball, Oberlin College
1989-90Yvonne Grierson, swimming, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
1988-89Anna Prineas, track and field, Carleton College
1987-88Jessica Beachy, basketball, Concordia College





More From 92.9 The Ticket