Liz Wood from the UMaine basketball team and Wilson Adams from the track&field team are 2015 Dean Smith Award winners.

The award goes to the top male and female student-athletes who combine athletics, academics, citizenship and community service.

It is named for Dean Smith, a former UMaine basketball team captain and winner of the NCAA Walter Byers National Award in 1993.

Wood recently scored her 1000th point on the basketball floor. In the classroom she is in the Honors College majoring in biology with a concentration in pre-med and minor in chemistry.

Adams captains the track and field team. He is a 4-time America East champion in the weight throw and hammer. In the classroom, he is a bioengineering major with a minor in physics.