The Brewer High School Athletics Hall of Fame will open its doors to five new inductees and two famous football teams.

Teal Jackson and Paul Elkin from track & field, Eric White from baseball, Ian Robinson from tennis and Mark Doughty from swimming make up the class of '18.

The 1953 and 1957 state championship teams will also be inducted.

Check out the bios of the of the inductees...
Mark Doughty, ​Class of 1983: The first elite swimmer from Brewer High School. Between 1980 and 1983, Doughty established himself as one of the best swimmers in the state. ​During his career at Brewer HS, Doughty held 5 individual school records including the 100yd backstroke record which stood for 31 years and his 200 Individual Medley record of 2:00.25 still stands to this day. Doughty was the PVC Champion in his two events all three years he competed making him one of the most dominant male swimmers in eastern Maine. He set five PVC meet records: once in the 100 yd breaststroke, twice in the 200 yd I.M. and twice in the 100 yd backstroke. He was a two-time state champion in the 100 yd backstroke and two-time member of the Maine State All-Star First team.
Paul Elkin, ​Class of 1982: ​The premier sprinter in the history of the PVC when he graduated in 1982. He had set PVC records in the 100yd dash in Outdoor track and the 300yd dash in Indoor track. He was a 5 time individual Class A State champion in events ranging from the 60 yd dash, 300 yd dash and long jump in Indoor track and a 3 time Class A State champion in the 100m dash and 200m dash in Outdoor track. He is generally regarded as one of the greatest sprinters in the History of Brewer High school, with school records in the 100yd dash, and 300yd dash that still stand today. He was the dominant sprinter of his era with sixteen PVC, EMITL, and State individual championships combined.
Teal Jackson, ​Class of 2013​: ​Widely regarded around the track community as one of the most versatile and dominant track & field athletes in the history of the Indoor Track and Outdoor Track & Field programs at Brewer High School and the State of Maine. Jackson also becomes the first student-athlete to be inducted to the Brewer High School Athletic Hall of Fame in the first year of becoming eligible upon graduation from BHS. Her resume is unrivaled in the history of Brewer Indoor Track and Brewer Outdoor Track & Field. During her senior year, Jackson won a total of 7 State Championships between Indoor & Outdoor Track, which is the maximum amount possible. To date, Jackson still holds eight school records in Indoor and Outdoor Track, won 8 individual state championships and set state records in two events. She was named the “Performer of the Meet” for the Eastern Maine Indoor Track League three consecutive years and she was the 2013 Brewer High School Ohmart Female Athlete of the Year and Maine Sunday Telegram/Portland Press Herald Female Athlete of the Year for Maine.

Ian Robinson Brewer
Brewer Athletics Photo / Ian Robinson, Class of 2003

Ian Robinson, ​Class of 2003:​ ​The first tennis player inducted into the Brewer Athletic Hall of Fame, and rightfully so, as Brewer High School’s most decorated individual tennis player. In both 2001 and 2003, Robinson was the State MPA Singles Tennis Champion, and runner-up in 2002. No other player in Brewer tennis history has accomplished this feat. In 2003, Robinson defeated the player who had beat him in the state championship the prior year. Robinson never lost a match in the regular season for Brewer High School tennis during his entire four year varsity career. Robinson earned the Maine Sunday Telegram/Portland Press Herald MVP for the State of Maine in each of his championship seasons.
Eric White​, Class of 2010: A standout in Baseball and Ice Hockey for the Brewer Witches between 2007 and 2010. White was a key member on two State Class “B” Championship Brewer Ice Hockey teams (2007 and 2010) and was the starting goalie on the 2010 team that defeated York, 3-1, during his senior season. White was an All-State hockey goalie in his sophomore, junior and senior seasons. White was also a four year starter on Brewer’s baseball team, which were strong teams in each of his four years, including the 2008 State Class “A” Runner-Up. White was a two-time KVAC Baseball Player of the Year and runner-up for the Maine Mr. Baseball Award in 2010. Eric White was named the Ohmart Athlete of the Year for Brewer High School in 2010.
The ​1953 ​and the ​1957 Football teams: .These two teams symbolize an era in organized sports at Brewer High School that paved the way for great football teams to follow as they were the first State Championship teams and go into the Hall of Fame together with generational considerations. On the 65th anniversary of Brewer High School’s first ever State Champion in any sport, the 1953 football team featured Hall of Fame inductees, Bobby Bower and Thomas Kelly III and was coached by Dave Auxter. The 1957 team, coached by Hall of Fame inductee, Larry Mahaney, was the second State Championship team in the history of Brewer High School and outscored their opponents 238 to 20 in 8 games along the way to their title.

NOTE: The Induction Ceremony for the 5th Class of the Brewer High School Athletic Hall of Fame presented by Richard and Donna Corey Varney will be held on Thursday, September 20, 2018 at the Brewer High School Cafeteria with social hour beginning at 5:00 and the banquet beginning at 6:00. RSVP forms are required for attendance with a $25.00 cost to attend. RSVP forms can be found on the athletic website,

More From 92.9 The Ticket