BREAKING SPORTS NEWS: The Maine Principals' Association membership has approved all of the classification committee changes for high school sports for the next two years.

That means football's new eight school Class A and the new eight-man football system is a go.

Bangor will be part of the statewide Class A football that includes Thornton Academy, Lewiston, Bonny Eagle, Oxford Hills,Edward Little, Sanford and Scarborough.

Elllsworth football will be a member of the eight-man large school division that includes four other schools.

It also means the basketball enrollment figures from the classification committee will be used to determine what class a school plays in. The cutoff number of 129 students will be used for the line between Class D and Class C. Several schools, including Woodland HS, wanted that number to be lower.

Baseball, softball and soccer numbers change slightly and it will put Brewer back in Class A for those sports.

This story will be updated.

More From 92.9 The Ticket