As her team preps to play in today's NCAA Division III national semi-final game, Bowdoin's Adrienne Shibles has been named Women's Basketball Coaches Association National Coach of the Year.

Shibles and her Polar Bears meet St. Thomas (Minn) at 5pm for the right to play in Saturday night's championship game.

The WBCA award goes to a Maine coach for just the third time since its inception in 1983. Former Bowdoin coach Stephanie Pemper won the award in 2004 and former University of Southern Maine coach Gary Fifield was named National Coach of the Year in 2005.

Shibles has led her Bowdoin team to a 30-1 record and a second straight Final Four appearance. Now in her 11th season, she is the winningest coach at Bowdoin with 253 wins.

Shibles played her high school basketball at Mt. View HS in Thorndike and was a 1,000 point scorer at Bates College.

Bowdoin Abby Kelly
Sports Radio 92.9 The Ticket Photo / (#22 Abby Kelly)

NOTE: Bowdoin senior guard Abby Kelly was named a WBCA First Team All-American...

Morgan BirmelinDeSales University
Adrienne BoettgerWartburg College
Brandi DawsonTrine University
Madeline EckAmherst College
Bryce FrankAustin College
Hannah FrazierWheaton College (Illinois)
Abby KellyBowdoin College
Alecia RohrerMessiah College
Hannah SpauldingUniversity of St. Thomas
Madison TempleThomas More University

More From 92.9 The Ticket