The University of Maine Sports Hall of Fame will open its doors to the 1965 Tangerine Bowl football team and seven individual standouts of the past at a banquet in September.

That '65 team, coached by Harold Westerman, went 5-0 in the Yankee Conference, won the Lambert Cup, awarded to the top team in the East and then became the only team to earn a spot in a bowl game.

The team included great players such as Dick DeVarney and John Huard.

The Class of 2019 also includes former track All-American Corey Conner, cross country and track great Gerald 'Jerry' Ellis, soccer standout Heather Hathorn (Driscoll), the outstanding pitcher Joe Johnson, field hockey standout Kelly Newton, from men's soccer Ben Spike,  football's Justin Strzelczyk.

The UMaine Sports Hall of Fame has been honoring former student-athletes, coaches, administrators and supporters for their contributions to Black Bear athletics since 1986. There are now over 200 inducteees.

More From 92.9 The Ticket