Four classes of 11-man football and 2 divisions of 8-man football. That's the final plan approved by the Maine Principals' Association football committee.

Ellsworth is the one high school in the North Region that will switch to the new 8-man football. The Eagles will play in the Large School Division along with Mt. Ararat, Gray-NG, Yarmouth and Maranacook.

The new 8-man Small School Division includes Sacopee Valley, Traip, Old Orchard, Boothbay and Telstar.

The committee elected to stay with four 11-man classes (A, B, C, D) with North and South regions. The North teams are...

Class A: Lewiston, Bangor, Deering, Oxford Hills, Edward Little, Portland, Windham, Skowhegan and Cheverus

Class B: Hampden, Messalonskee, Cony, Brewer, Mt. Blue, Gardiner, Lawrence and Nokomis

Class C: MDI, Waterville, Hermon, Belfast, Old Town, John Bapst, Winslow and MCI

Class D: Foxcroft, W.A., Mt. View, M.A., Orono, Houlton, Bucksport, Dexter and Stearns.

NOTE: The football committee's work is done. Any appeal by schools to change classes is heard by another MPA committee.

More From 92.9 The Ticket