Bucksport High School lineman and LTC Player of the Year, David Gross, is one of seven nominees for the Gaziano Award for top Offensive Lineman in Maine.

Gross led the Golden Bucks to the regional title and a state championship game appearance. He's the only offensive or defensive lineman nominee from a the Class D ranks.

Gross dominated play as a two-way lineman for Bucksport, winning LTC Lineman of the Year as well as Player of the Year.

The winning offensive and defensive lineman will receive $5,000 scholarships. Four runnerups will receive $1,000 scholarships. The awards banquet is January 25th.

Frank J. Gaziano Memorial Award Nominees: 
Offensive Linemen
Jack Rogers, Thornton Academy
Jonah Green, Portland High School
Christopher (Riley) Parmenter, Leavitt High School
David Gross, Bucksport High School
Caleb Viola, South Portland High School
David Dingley, Oxford Hills High School
Reese Boucher, Sanford High School
Defensive Linemen
Chase Carey, Skowhegan High School
Camden Jordan, Leavitt High School
William Horton, Bonny Eagle
Connor Caverly, Marshwood High School
Nate Ellington, South Portland High School
Kyle Ouillette, Gorham High School
Nathan Mars, Scarborough High School
NOTE: The Gaziano Award is now in its 10th year, honoring the late Frank Gaziano who was an outstanding college player and founded National Distributors Company in South Portland...To qualify for consideration, an applicant must be a high school senior, have competed at the varsity level for a minimum of two years and have an exemplary record of positive athletic and non-athletic citizenship. The submission of a student essay and a game film featuring the applicant competing against his two toughest competitors are also part of the application process.
Bucksport David Gross 3
Sports Radio 92.9 The Ticket Photo

More From 92.9 The Ticket