The honors keep coming in for UMaine football coach Joe Harasymiak. Today named the American Football Coaches Association (AFCA) Region 1 Coach of the Year.

The AFCA breaks down the nation into five regions in both the FBS and FCS divisions. One of the five regional finalists will be named National Coach of the Year on January 8th.

The honor is on top of Harasymiak CAA Coach of the Year and Eddie Robinson National Coach of the Year finalist awards.

The third year UMaine coach led the Black Bears to the national semi-final round in the FCS playoffs.

2018 AFCA Regional Coach of the Year Winners

Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS)

Region 1: Dino Babers, Syracuse University

Region 2: Nick Saban, University of Alabama

Region 3: Brian Kelly, University of Notre Dame

Region 4: *Matt Campbell, Iowa State University

Region 5: Mike Leach, Washington State University

Football Championship Subdivision (FCS)

Region 1: Joe Harasymiak, University of Maine

Region 2: *Brian Bohannon, Kennesaw State University

Region 3: *John Grass, Jacksonville State University

Region 4: Chris Klieman, North Dakota State University

Region 5: Eric Morris, University of the Incarnate Word

AFCA National Coach of the Year: The AFCA will announce the 2018 National Coaches of the Year winners in FBS, FCS, Division II, Division III and NAIA at the American Football Coaches Awards on Tuesday, January 8. The Regional winners in each division are finalists for National Coach of the Year.

More From 92.9 The Ticket