It is called the Spencer Penrose Award. It is the Coach of the Year award for Division I college hockey. All four coaches from the teams at the upcoming Frozen Four Championship are on the list of eight.

That includes former UMaine assistant and current Providence College coach Nate Leaman, BU's David Quinn, North Dakota's Dave Hakstol and Nebraska-Omaha's Dean Blais.

The winner will be announced next Wednesday, April 8th.

Former UMaine coaches Shawn Walsh(1995) and Tim Whitehead(2005) won Spencer Penrose awards.

2014-2015 AHCA Men’s Ice Hockey 

Spencer Penrose Award Finalists

(STX/AHCA Division I Coach of the Year) 

Dean Blais, Omaha — NCAA Semifinalist*

Greg Carvel, St. Lawrence — ECAC Coach of the Year

Guy Gadowsky, Penn State — Big Ten Coach of the Year

Dave Hakstol, North Dakota — NCHC Coach of the Year and NCAA Semifinalist

Mike Hastings, Minnesota State — WCHA Coach of the Year

Nate Leaman, Providence College — NCAA Semifinalist*

David Quinn, Boston University — Hockey East Coach of the Year and NCAA Semifinalist

Derek Schooley, Robert Morris University — Atlantic Hockey Coach of the Year

* Past Spencer Penrose Award Winner