Maine running back Josh Mack is gaining national attention in the Football Championship Subdivision, as he was one of six players added to the Walter Peyton Award Watch List for offensive player of the year.

new additions to the list on Wednesday afternoon.  The Maine running back leads the FCS level in rushing yards per game with 154.4, and has logged five scores on the season.  Mack rushed for 248 yards in a Maine victory over Rhode Island this past weekend.

The Black Bear runner joins Kyle Lauletta of Richmond, Bryan Schor of James Madison, and Elijah Ibitokun-Hanks of Albany as the other CAA players on the watch list.  No Maine Football player has won the award, but Brian Westbrook, Ricky Santos, and John Robertson have all taken home the prize for the CAA conference since 2000.  Other past winners include Tomy Romo, Jimmy Garopolo, Steve McNair, and Armanti Edwards.

Maine football will head back on the road for another conference match-up with Albany this Saturday.

More From 92.9 The Ticket