Four UMaine Black Bears have been selected to the New England Football Writers Division I All-Star team. Only Boston College had more selections.

LB Sterling Sheffield, DL Kayon Whitaker, DB Manny Patterson and Return Specialist earn All-New England honors just days after being named first team All-CAA.

The NEFW selected 31 players from D-I schools around New England. BC had five players on the All-Star team. Maine, Dartmouth and Harvard each had four.

The banquet to honor the players is December 6th in Massachusetts.

NOTE:  UMaine hosts Jacksonville State (AL) at Alfond Stadium Saturday at noon in the second round of the NCAA FCS playoffs.

More From 92.9 The Ticket