Husson University senior linebacker Elvin Suazo is up for the Cliff Harris Award. Its' the national award for the best defensive player in small college football (Division II, III, NAIA).

Cliff Harris played his college football at a small school in Arkansas and went on to become a 10-year an All-Pro free safety player with the Dallas Cowboys, playing in five Super Bowls.

Cliff Harris Award
Cliff Harris Award Photo

Suazo helped lead the Eagles to an EFCF title and was named Defensive Player of the Year. Since then, he has been selected to the NEFW All-New England team and the All-Region team.

The 6-foot-1, 210 pound Suazo had a career-high 91 tackles, including eight sacks, a fumble recovery and an interception.

He is the third Husson player to be a finalist for the award, joining DE Luke Washburn (2016) and LB Bryant Wade (2015).

The Cliff Harris Selection Committee, which includes former NFL greats such as Roger Staubach, Mel Renfro and Drew Pearson, will announce the winner on Decemeber 24th. The awards banquet takes place in Little Rock, Arkansas on January 10th.

Check out the list of players on the list from Division III schools...

More From 92.9 The Ticket