UMaine sophomore Jeremy Swayman is one of 20 goalies named to the preseason watch list for the annual Mike Richter Award.

The award goes to the best college goalie each year, kind of the Hobey Baker Award for goalies.

The Richter Award is in its 6th year and is named after former University of Wisconsin and NHL goalie Mike Richter. After playing for the Badgers, Richter played for the New York Rangers for 14 seasons, winning a Stanley Cup in 1993-94. He also played on three U.S. Olympic teams.

Swayman had a record of 15-13-3 as a freshman last season for the Black Bears. His GAA was 2.74 and his save percentage was .920%.

He is a draft pick of the Boston Bruins.

Former UMaine goalie Martin Ouellette was candidate for the Richter Award in its first year of existence back in 2014.

Check out the full watch list for the 2018-19 Richter Award...

Jeremy Swayman  UMaine Maine Sophomore

Jake Oettinger  Boston University Junior

Cayden Primeau Northeastern Sophomore

Mat Robson Minnesota Junior

Sean Romeo  Ohio State Senior

Hunter Shepard  Minnesota Duluth Junior

Atte Tolvanen Northern Michigan Senior

Daniel Urbani Canisius Junior

Joseph Woll Boston College Junior

Ryan Bednard Bowling Green Junior

Billy Christopoulos Air Force Senior

Matthew Galajda  Cornell Sophomore

Hayden Hawkey Providence Senior

Christoffer Hernberg UMass Lowell Senior

Dávid Hrenák  St. Cloud State Sophomore

Corbin Kaczperski Yale Junior

Jake Kielly  Clarkson Junior

Jake Kupsky Union Senior

Francis Marotte Robert Morris Junior

Cale Morris  Notre Dame Junior

* Bold: Hockey East Teams


Rangers v Devils
Getty Images       (2002 Mike Richter)

More From 92.9 The Ticket