The John W. Winkin Award finalists were announced on Monday afternoon for the Mr. Baseball for the top senior baseball player in the state.

Among the finalists were Alex Maxsimic (Brewer), Zach Nash (Hermon), and Jackson Coutts (Orono).  Maxsimic was recently named the Player of the Year for the KVAC in Class A, while Nash took home both the Player and Pitcher of the Year in the PVC for Class B.  Coutts' Red Riots side will be competing in the Class C North title game on Wednesday night against Dexter.

Other finalists include Jared Brooks (Cheverus), Trevor Lebonte (York), Cam Guarino (Falmouth), Nate Howard (Erskine), Barrett Grant (Searsport), Dustin Crawford (Madison/Carrabec), and Brandon Burnell (Sacopee Valley).  Guarino has already been named the Maine Gatorade Player of the Year for the state.

The announcement of the winner will be made between the C/D and the A/B Senior All-Star games that will be held at Colby College on June 23rd.

Winners of John W. Winkin Award

1992 – Steve Coombs (Lee Academy)

1993 – Nick Ciaazzo (Deering)

1994 – Andy Eastbrook (Yarmouth)

1995 – Matt Kinney (Bangor)

1996 – Matt Truman (Oxford Hills)

1997 – Brandon Brewer (Greely)

1998 – Pat Liddy (Mt Blue)

1999 – Stu Tisdale (Deering)

2000 – Jason Harvey (Bucksport)

2001 – Greg Creek (Maranacook)

2002 – Greg Norton (South Portland)

2003 – Ross Canatara (Biddeford)

2004 – Mark Rogers (Mt Ararat)

2005 – Ryan Flaherty (Deering)

2006 – Colin Henry (George Stevens Academy)

2007 – Jarret Lukas (Old Town)

2008 – Kyle Stilphen (Gardiner)

2009 – Chris Bernard (Scarborough)

2010 – Matt Verrier (Oxford Hills)

2011 – Sam Balzano (Deering)

2012 – Ben Wessel (Scarborough)

2013 – Ryan Rebar (Foxcroft)

2014 – Ben Greenberg (Scarborough)

2015 – Eric Hoogterp (Old Town)

2016 – Trevor DeLaite (Bangor)

More From 92.9 The Ticket